Dancing Shoes

You can tell a lot about a person based on their shoes. There’s the guy who wears all-stars verses a person who wears laced up boots. Then there’s the girl who wears high pumps verses the girl sprinting around in Rainbow flipflops. Everyone has a different piece of style when it comes to fashion, but each one just may reveal a little bit about them.

I started noticing shoes years ago when I would meet homeless people. I had just finished reading an article written by a man who said that he had pretended to be homeless to get money from strangers. He said one of the telling marks was whether or not the homeless person had nice shoes or not. If his shoes were squeaky clean, chances are it was a scam.

After that, it became natural for me to observe people’s shoes especially when it came to the guys I would date. I know what they say about judging a book by it’s cover, but I was determined to find the right man – and if the right shoe fit…

One guy I dated was self-conscious about his height and so he would wear platform shoes. Brown, suede platform shoes. Then I dated a guy who didn’t know how to pick out shoes and would wear down his shoes until there were holes in the soles. I remember he finally caved in to buy a good pair of every day shoes and came back with a pair of cheesy looking tennis shoes. I’m not saying shoes are a dealbreaker, but the Cinderella girl in me still believes that the right pair of shoes can change your life.

There have been girl friends, boy friends, relationships and acquaintances in my life. And the older I get the more I learn about myself and what I’m looking for especially in the case of better halfs and forever and evers. One of my failed relationships was with a guy who was pretty adamant that he hated dancing. I am a terrible dancer, but I love to dance. I love being, feeling and looking ridiculous as I do the Macarena on the dance floor. Don’t judge. I fully embrace that I dance the way Phoebe (from Friends) runs. One of the pivotal disagreements in our relationship was when he told me he didn’t feel comfortable dancing at our wedding. I was crushed.

There’s a song by Green River Ordinance called “Dancing Shoes,” the first line is: Put on your old black dress / And grab your dancing shoes / Head out to the old bar Rose / And we’ll dance away our blues / Spent all week waiting / Now my mind’s on you / Hold my loving arms / My loving arms are for you. I don’t know what kind of shoes you are looking for in the season that you’re in right now. Whatever it is, I think we all deserve to find our perfect pair (pun attended).

Keep watching for the right shoes to walk in, have faith and don’t settle. If you have to, break it off with stilettos. Say goodbye to those old sneakers. And kick off those painful heels. I promise you, you won’t regret it. When my day comes, the day I put on that new white dress, I guarantee you, we’ll both have dancing shoes.

Photo Credit: Prague Wedding Photographer (http://www.prague-wedding-photographer.com)

Leave a Reply

