Be Yourself [Mint is Gross]

Check out the blog I wrote for Girls of Grace. See the original post here: http://www.girlsofgrace.com/content/be-yourself-mint-gross

I don’t like mint. The taste of it, the smell of it, all of it makes me nauseous and makes me want to vomit. Don’t get me wrong, I want to like mint. Let me rephrase that. I desperately want to like mint because everyone likes mint. Who doesn’t like mint? Only weird people like me. I understand that it is a rare thing to be grossed out by, like if I had said the smell of Apple pie or pizza makes me want to vomit. Absurd.

When I was younger I tried to force myself to eat mint. Every time we would go out for ice cream I would order Mint Chocolate Chip and then subsequently, threw-up afterwards. Even though I knew I would be hugging the toilet for the next couple hours, I still ordered Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream. Why? Because like I mentioned earlier, who doesn’t love Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream?

This might sound ridiculous to you, but we all do this in our daily lives all the time. We consume so much of our culture, whether it’s an unhealthy appetite for trashy television shows, or drinking alcohol, or dressing like the girl in the magazine. Whatever it is, extreme or not-so-extreme, we do it for the lame reason because “everyone else is doing it.”

I’ve always wanted to like mint, but there’s something about it that my body physically and emotionally rejects. Whenever someone offers me a piece of gum and I follow it with a “no thanks, I don’t like mint” their horrified look says it all. I think that’s why I probably have a deep desire to like mint because I associate it with being accepted.

Now I know you’re probably thinking, “Don’t be ridiculous Sarah. If someone doesn’t like you for not eating mint, then why do you even want to be friends with them in the first place?”

Hmm.

Now replace the word mint, with whatever “thing” you are doing because you think it’s the determining factor among your friends.

Is it gossiping? Drinking? Having sex?

“Okay, but that’s different.”

Is it really?

I know you desperately want to be liked. I know you want to fit in. It’s true, we all do, but it’s so much better to be yourself than someone you’re not. Here’s the thing about my relationship with mint. It will always make me nauseous and I’m okay with that. In some weird way it makes me, me, and I kinda love that. And because I don’t have to worry about what people think about me, I don’t have to brush my teeth anymore. JUST KIDDING. But seriously, I’ve learned that being an original is so much more refreshing than a copy.

What’s interesting is that long before I mentally accepted the fact I didn’t like mint, my body was already rejecting it. Have you ever noticed when you do something wrong, you feel like you have just gotten punched in the gut? That’s the Holy Spirit in you. Because you have the Holy Spirit within you, your body is a temple and it knows what you need in order to live a healthy, spiritual life, even if your brain and actions don’t agree.

You were not created to love the mints of this world. Don’t live as a follower. You were born an original. You were born a leader. Don’t eat mint.

Leave a Reply

